PDA

View Full Version : Pride Vegas ticket scam?


Shamrocked
08-24-2006, 03:31 AM
Has anyone else who's ordered tickets to the Vegas show from Pride's website received an email advising you to print an enclosed document, fill it out (including credit card information) and fax it to a number on the document to complete processing of the transaction? The email stated that the name on the credit card was different than the name on my membership account, so this was necessary to verify the information. My wife picked up the tickets on one of her business cards, so the name WOULD be different, but it still makes me more than a little leary. There's no contact phone number on Pride's website, so I e-mailed them about it. I hope they get back to me quickly, because if it IS legit I don't want to lose my tickets because they haven't heard back from me.

There IS a phone number on the document that was attached to the e-mail, but if it's not legit of course whoever might answer the phone is gonna tell me that it is.

adrock
08-24-2006, 08:24 AM
its to late, the yak's have already sold all your information, got ya bitch!

cabby316
08-24-2006, 12:42 PM
I haven't ordered tixs, but it sounds pretty fishy to me. That's a weird way of buying tickets to a show. Usually you just goto one site give the info and then your done, you can pick them up at the arena, print the tixs or have them mailed to you. I'd make sure eveything is legit or you might be losing your money.

Shamrocked
08-24-2006, 02:43 PM
I haven't ordered tixs, but it sounds pretty fishy to me. That's a weird way of buying tickets to a show. Usually you just goto one site give the info and then your done, you can pick them up at the arena, print the tixs or have them mailed to you. I'd make sure eveything is legit or you might be losing your money.That's how it's supposed to work, but I'm assuming that the problem (if it's legit) is that my wife's name is on the card that we used (although I share that account) and my name is the one that's registered with Pridefc.com. I'm still waiting for a reply from Pride's website, and then I'll let everybody know what the deal is in case anyone else encounters this situation.

BruceLee
08-24-2006, 05:32 PM
That's how it's supposed to work, but I'm assuming that the problem (if it's legit) is that my wife's name is on the card that we used (although I share that account) and my name is the one that's registered with Pridefc.com. I'm still waiting for a reply from Pride's website, and then I'll let everybody know what the deal is in case anyone else encounters this situation.

I had this problem when trying to buy a laptop a couple years ago. I had just moved so my billing and shipping address didn't match up yet. So I could use my credit card to order online but then a couple days later I'd get an email saying I needed to fax my credit card or driver's license.

I remember being suspicious so I cancelled my order but it took a couple weeks for the order to go off my credit card. The credit card company said that they took the order off but it takes a couple weeks for it to disappear from your statement so it was legit.

I played it safe and waited for my billing address to match my shipping address before buying my computer.

This scenario usually happens when infromation doesn't match up becasue especially on high end (over $1000 items) people buy things with stolen infromation and then the store has to eat some of the cost when the real person complains that they didn't order it to their credit card company.

I'd be suspicious but it may be legit. Especially if you ordered a couple of the $500 tickets and like you said you used your wife's card or something.

Shamrocked
08-24-2006, 07:08 PM
I have yet to receive a reply from Pride's website, but that doesn't really surprise me. I did a little research, and found that the address and phone on the document that I am supposed to fax is registered to a Double Helix Int. Inc. When I called the number an Asian rep answered with Double Helix. When I asked her what kind of business Double Helix was she told me that they were an MMA events coordinator. It would make sense, since Pride is a Japanese company and they would have to have some assisitance organizing an event like this.

My wife says she deals with similar forms all the time in her line of work, and she thinks it's completely legit so what the hell. I'm probably just being paranoid.